You as a habit are stronger than I thought!

Now when it’s all over and I wake up alone

I go to fetch some coffee as usual, at six

I don’t like it, it tastes different today

Should I call and ask you how many spoons of sugar you used to mix?

I can’t right? Because I am made to know that you are gone?

So I get ready to go to work, but I don’t see any car outside

You taught me that taxis were not for us

And now who is going to give me a ride?

I somehow reach office on foot

You as a habit are stronger than I thought

But now how do I concentrate on work

When there is no coffee packed in my coffee pot?

So I fetch some of it from the canteen

It tastes bitter; I guess it was made to exactly match my mood

I leave it on the table and forget about it

What had to be done with your memories, I guess I understood.

I pack my bag, the empty flask

Then walk myself to the now-empty place 

I wonder if I was in love with you

Or it’s your coffee that I can’t replace?

I thought we would last longer

Longer as in till the Sun ran out of its light

We still had to finish that list, remember?

The one which we started that night?

It looks quite simple as I write about it

But it’s actually very hard to go through

I am planning to cut the coffee tonight

Like beans on the ground, all my parts you have strewed.

So I am planning to brew some coffee while asleep

I wonder if I have still got that fire burning in my heart

If not me, it will definitely know my taste

If not it, who will join back my parts?

So when I wake up tomorrow, as usual by six

I will know the proportions by heart

Though now I have decided to reach office on foot, it’s good for health!

Few people and habits just leave you smart!
10 thoughts on “You as a habit are stronger than I thought!

Leave a Reply

