A thing of beauty is a joy for ever!

Story time! 😀

I am a student doing engineering. My college is about to re-open in a week.

I woke up this morning sleeping for five hours or less, head feels heavy as if I have a hangover. Well I certainly don’t know how one feels the following morning when he/she passed out last night but I have seen the movies and I just assume that it’s too much of pain and a somewhat like, “Aaauu! Why is my head sooo heavyy? It hurts!”

I haven’t even opened my eyes properly and the first thing I picked up was the new bag filled with stationery. New copies, pens, pencils, everything new! The mere sight of that bag brought a smile on my face and oxygenated my lungs more than usual, I felt amazing for those few minutes touching the same things again which I had bought myself some time ago.

There are always things that make us feel alive. Sometimes I wonder that we need these things to be properly oxygenated. Or we can’t breathe.At times the lungs refuse to take in anymore. But as soon as we get our hands on these things, life returns to us, in all forms. May be for a matter of minutes, but it’s always about a matter of few minutes right? We spent thousands for a ticket to a 90 minutes game, spending hundreds for a mere 15 mins 7D show, spending few bucks for an ice cream that lasts for, say ten minutes? It’s always about these few minutes, we somehow try to build up our lives consisting only of these kind of minutes, but of course this is not really possible.

These things which offer us such minutes are called “things of beauty”. As the name suggests, they make our lives beautiful!

When John Keats said that, “a thing of beauty is a joy for ever”, I never doubted him. I have a thing for these poets you know, whatever they say I tend to believe! (at least for that moment, later I MIGHT re-think and have trust issues!)

So life becomes easier when we know what these things of beauty are. But the twist is, they are different for each one of us. Everyone’s lives are defined with different meanings and hence different things give them peace.

We are huge as a planet and the good point is, we are never going to run out of things! There is always going to be a great variety!

How to identify what things bring you that eternal joy?

Observe.

  • What do you want to touch when you wake up first? Well this doesn’t includes cell phones because they are more like, “things of-addiction”.
  • When you are sad and lonely, where do you go? Which thing do you turn to, what do you hold?
  • What do you see and say, ‘WOW’ and never want to stop looking at it because somewhere inside it’s giving you joy and peace.

For example, I can share my things of beauty.

I love to wake up and look at the sky, the blue sky. At times with clouds, at times without. How it turns orange and red during the Sunrise. How it turns dark grey when its about to rain. I love all its forms. Looking at it is peaceful.

When I am sad and alone, I go to my balcony and turn to the skies above me, the trees around me. They have always been there, right in front of me since forever. They give me a sense of reassurance that I have them with me no matter how alone I may feel.

There are new flavours of ice-cream at which I look at and say ‘Wow’. Though just looking at them won’t give me peace, only when they are in my mouth they feel beautiful. I need to actually taste their beauty you see! ; )

These are just examples. We all have things of beauty around us, it’s about how we preserve and take care of those things!

I have included the very famous poem By John Keats here as it’s the source of our inspiration.

A THING OF BEAUTY

A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases; it will never
Pass into nothingness; but still will keep
A bower quiet for us, and a sleep
Full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing.
Therefore, on every morrow, are we wreathing
A flowery band to bind us to the earth,
Spite of despondence, of the inhuman dearth
Of noble natures, of the gloomy days,
Of all the unhealthy and o’er-darkened ways
Made for our searching: yes, in spite of all,
Some shape of beauty moves away the pall
From our dark spirits. Such the sun, the moon,
Trees old, and young, sprouting a shady boon
For simple sheep; and such are daffodils
With the green world they live in; and clear rills
That for themselves a cooling covert make
‘Gainst the hot season; the mid-forest brake,
Rich with a sprinkling of fair musk-rose blooms:
And such too is the grandeur of the dooms
We have imagined for the mighty dead;
All lovely tales that we have heard or read:
An endless fountain of immortal drink,
Pouring unto us from the heaven’s brink.

Nor do we merely feel these essences
For one short hour; no, even as the trees
That whisper round a temple become soon
Dear as the temple’s self, so does the moon,
The passion poesy, glories infinite,
Haunt us till they become a cheering light
Unto our souls, and bound to us so fast
That, whether there be shine or gloom o’ercast,
They always must be with us, or we die.

Therefore, ’tis with full happiness that I
Will trace the story of Endymion.
The very music of the name has gone
Into my being, and each pleasant scene
Is growing fresh before me as the green
Of our own valleys: so I will begin
Now while I cannot hear the city’s din;
Now while the early budders are just new,
And run in mazes of the youngest hue
About old forests; while the willow trails
Its delicate amber; and the dairy pails
Bring home increase of milk. And, as the year
Grows lush in juicy stalks, I’ll smoothly steer
My little boat, for many quiet hours,
With streams that deepen freshly into bowers.
Many and many a verse I hope to write,
Before the daisies, vermeil rimmed and white,
Hide in deep herbage; and ere yet the bees
Hum about globes of clover and sweet peas,
I must be near the middle of my story.
O may no wintry season, bare and hoary,
See it half finished: but let Autumn bold,
With universal tinge of sober gold,
Be all about me when I make an end!
And now at once, adventuresome, I send
My herald thought into a wilderness:
There let its trumpet blow, and quickly dress
My uncertain path with green, that I may speed
Easily onward, thorough flowers and weed.

Well yeah a messed up post! Promise to come out better next time!

Good day! 🙂

3 thoughts on “A thing of beauty is a joy for ever!

Leave a Reply

